I’ll not start from what India was,

I’ll tell you what is my country,

My beautiful country…..

It’s a place where leaders are elected

By vote banks,

Luckily they visit their domains

Only for a vote of thanks. . .

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place where bribe is taken

Under the snap of father of nation,

And a dalit woman is sacrificed

Just because of wrong incarnation.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place where national game is placed

Below the game of cricket,

Here instead of shaheed-e-azam

M.K. Gandhi is the favorite.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place where we are declared

Food self sufficient,

But where still 20% crowd

Sleeps food deficient.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place which scores 78th rank in

85 least corrupted countries,

Also which holds the record for

Maximum number of robberies.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place which has monuments

Counted for world’s wonders,

These buildings are nothing but

Notice boards for love messages of lovers.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place two group’s fight

To leave mothers and wives crying,

It’s a place where one of my friends

Was left in my lap for dying.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place where you yourself hold nothing,

Your inner self has no meaning,

Your life depends on others, and,

Every time your thought’s script goes for screening.

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .

It’s a place where my thoughts are just shit,

Here my feelings never go someone’s wit,

I once thought of changing everything

Round here,

But could never understand about

The material in their mind’s knit.

Fed up… completely eaten up,

By my thoughts and these countrymen,

Don’ know when I’ll be free…

But I know….

This is my country,

My colorful country. . .